This is an experimental feature allowing b2evolution to automatically upgrade itself.
There are still quite a few cases in which this feature can fail (like insufficient memory on the server). Therefore we do not recommend you use it at this time, unless you feel comfortable with restoring a potentially broken site to it’s previous backup.
This feature works in conjunction with the upgrade_policy.conf file.
Once the new version is downloaded, the version number and release date is compared with the currently installed version. This will prevent from installing an old version over a new one. It will also prevent reinstalling an already installed version.
- This feature is considered future proof only starting at version 5.0.6 (it means you should have 5.0.6 installed before attempting to upgrade with this feature).
- If you have moved your "conf" directory, the auto upgrade can not be done (to read a little more about configuration files please go here: Configuration Files).
- This feature may cause the loss of important files by overwriting them, for example if you added some hacks to your current installation. Make sure the backup operation is functioning properly.
Created by • Last edit by on Sep 21, 2015