When they are open, people can post comments (naturally).
When you close comments, no one can post comments, but everyone can still read the comments.
Disabled makes the link disappear, no one can read/post comments.
N.B. We need to fix current (0.8.9) issue. If comments are closed initially “leave a comment” link is still available.
This is not an issue. You’ll just have to *disable* comments initially if you don’t want to show a link saying ‘0 comments’.
Will add ‘protected’ status = only blog members can comment.